New Zealand Law Society

Navigation menu

Lawyer Member - Lawyers Standards Committee - Wellington

16 May 2019

The New Zealand Law Society is looking to appoint lawyer members for a Lawyers Standards Committee based in Wellington. Meetings will be convened in person in Wellington City. Lawyers Standards Committees consider and determine complaints about lawyers. Part 7 of the Lawyers and Conveyancers Act 2006 sets out the requirements for complaints and discipline, and sections 126 to 189 govern the functions, duties and powers of Standards Committees.

To be eligible for appointment as a lawyer member on a Standards Committee a person must have practised as a lawyer for a period or periods aggregating at least five years. Appointments are made by the Board of the New Zealand Law Society. Candidates must also be of good character and possess the skill, experience and judgement needed to deal with complaints and make appropriate decisions.

There is some preparatory work involved and meetings are usually monthly. This is a voluntary role although expenses will be reimbursed. Previous experience on a regulatory committee will be an advantage but is not essential.

The New Zealand Law Society is committed to the principles of diversity and inclusion and to recognising the bicultural foundations of Aotearoa New Zealand. We wish to ensure that Lawyers Standards Committees represent the society that the legal profession serves and encourage applications from a diverse range of backgrounds. Applications from candidates who are fluent in a second language are welcomed.

Please note names of Standard Committee members may be shared with parties to a complaint.

For more information please see the attached position description or email Rebecca Long at

If you would like to apply please complete the attached expression of interest form and submit this together with your current CV to

Rebecca Long
PO Box 5041
Wellington 6140

Applications must be received by 5:00pm, Thursday 30 May 2019.

The NZLS main logo

Last updated on the 17th May 2019