New Zealand Law Society

Navigation menu

Law Reform Committee

The Law Reform Committee oversees all of the Law Society’s law reform work. The LRC reviews bills before Parliament, as well as government and Law Commission law reform proposals. Committee members draft the Law Society’s submissions on bills and discussion papers, with assistance from NZLS specialist committees and the Family Law and Property Law Sections.

About Us

The Law Society is an important participant in New Zealand law reform, and has a reputation for making a careful and impartial contribution to law reform, the administration of justice and the rule of law.

The Law Reform Committee supports the Law Society in fulfilling its statutory function under the Lawyers and Conveyancers Act 2006, to assist and promote law reform “for the purpose of upholding the rule of law and facilitating the administration of justice in New Zealand”.

The LRC coordinates and oversees all NZLS submissions, based on input from NZLS specialist committees and Sections, as well as interested members and branch committees.

Our People

The LRC comprises members with a passion for law reform:

  • Katherine Anderson
  • Joanne Appleyard
  • David Cochrane
  • Matthew Harris
  • Alastair Logan
  • Janna McGuigan
  • Kristina Muller
  • Jonathan Orpin-Dowell
  • Edward Scorgie
  • Jane Standage
  • Tim Stephens
  • Rebecca Thomson
  • Jack Wass
  • Esther Watt
  • Nick Whittington

The convenors of the NZLS specialist committees and chairs of the Property Law and Family Law Sections also sit on the LRC.

The LRC convenor is Liesle Theron. Liesle is an experienced advisor and litigator with expertise in a wide range of fields, having worked as a barrister, law firm partner and in-house counsel.

Recent Work

The past 18 months have been exceptionally busy for NZLS law reform. The LRC played a central role in finalising NZLS submissions on a diverse range of reform proposals, such as submissions on:

  • the Law Commission’s reviews of Relationship Property, the 2nd review of the Evidence Act, and the use of DNA in criminal investigations;
  • major reforms of the Family Court;
  • the Courts Matters, and Tribunals Powers & Procedures Legislation bills;
  • the Overseas Investment Amendment Bill;
  • the Trusts Bill;
  • the Electoral (Integrity) Amendment Bill (‘waka jumping’);
  • the Election Access Fund Bill;
  • the Administration of Justice (Reform of Contempt of Court) Bill;
  • the Building Amendment Bill;
  • the Corrections Amendment Bill;
  • Criminal Cases Review Commission Bill; and
  • the Misuse of Drugs Amendment Bill.

Get Involved

Appointments are made to this committee biennially. Membership of this committee allows you to play an important role in health law reform and is an excellent basis for professional development as well as collegiality and networking.

Applications have now closed and appointments will be announced in September. Appointments are for a two-year term starting September 2019.

Last updated on the 30th July 2019