New Zealand Law Society

Navigation menu

Canterbury Gold Medal in Law

A gold medal, first presented by the Canterbury District Law Society in 1883, is awarded annually to the best student graduating LLB at Canterbury University. 

Medals were originally awarded to barristers and to solicitors. The first awards, in 1883, were to T Hay (Barristers) and WC MacGregor (Solicitors).

The University's regulation for the award states that the award shall be made on the student's work and examination marks during the whole of [his or her] course. "The medal shall not necessarily be awarded in any year if, in the opinion of the Law Faculty, there is no student attaining to the required standard.

One of New Zealand's longest-standing academic prizes, the gold medal is now known as the Canterbury-Westland branch New Zealand Law Society Gold Medal in Law.

A complete list of winners is not available. The winners since 1952 are as follows:

1952EJ Somers1984No award
1953KC James1985RG Forrester
1954JA Robertson/ILM Richardson1986PM Brown
1955JG Rutherford1987JA Black
1956AB Harman1988SM Harray
1957PF Feenstra1989SP Baldwin
1958T Morton/St L Reeves1990MD Sinclair
1959J Cadenhead1991JF Anderson/TA Novitz
1960CJO'H Tobin1992MJ Sophocles
1961DJ Marshall1993JE Kirby
1962JF Burrows1994NJ Rowe/SR Tomlinson
1963WI Hooker1995G Smith
1964TP Hogan1996R Dunningham
1965KN Hampton1997CJR Baird
1966APC Tipping1998KM Crooks
1967GF Orchard1999PDF Oertly
1968PG Turbott2000BA Rennie
1969LV North/AJ Forbes2001JE Hooker
1970JH Wily2002AF Todd
1971AMP Shea2003MT Bradley
1972WJ Gough2004RAB Joseph
1973No award2005JS Shaerf
1974WGGA Young2006NL Leatham/ATB Joseph
1975ED Wylie2007AJ Messent
1976JL Caldwell2008NK Caldwell
1977JR Morris2009DMT Turner
1978PS Elliott2010JE Dick
1979GO Lawn2011AL Mitchell
1980PG Watts2012SWP Woods
1981DE Marriott2013AGM Whalan
1982RJM Granville Glover2014Rosie Kós/Alison Chamberlain
1983DJA Cairns/DEJ Currie2015Timothy Bain

Last updated on the 4th August 2016