New Zealand Law Society

Navigation menu

Southland Branch

The Southland branch of the New Zealand Law Society had its beginnings on 21 December 1878 when the Southland District Law Society was founded. This became the Southland branch of the Law Society on 1 February 2009.

Governance is by an elected Branch Council, consisting of the branch President, the Vice-President and five Council members. The President, Malcolm McKenzie, represents the branch on the New Zealand Law Society's Council. 

The branch functions include:

  • representing and serving the interests of local Law Society members; 
  • upholding the fundamental obligations imposed by the Lawyers and Conveyancers Act 2006 on lawyers who provide regulated services;
  • attending to representative functions, including promoting collegiality within the branch;
  • assisting and promoting law reform.


The Southland branch includes the centres of Gore, Invercargill, Mataura, Otautau, Riverton, Tapanui, Te Anau, Tuatapere, Winton and Wyndham.

Lawyers in Practice

At 16 December 2016 there were 141 practising lawyers in the Southland branch area. This was 1.1% of all New Zealand-based lawyers.

 BarristersLaw Firm
In-houseSole PracticeTotal

Last updated on the 23rd June 2017