New Zealand Law Society

Navigation menu

Branch history

15 May 2018

Waikato Bay of Plenty Presidents, 1911 -

Presidents of the Hamilton District Law Society (8 December 1911 to 31 January 1989), Waikato Bay of Plenty District Law Society (1 February 1989 to 31 January 2009) and Waikato Bay of Plenty branch of the New Zealand Law Society (from 1 February 2009). Titles and honours held while in office are included:

1911-12A Swarbrick1966-67ID Mears
1912-13A Swarbrick1967-68Arthur Grenville Ward
1913-14A Swarbrick1968-69Arthur Grenville Ward
1914-15CL MacDiarmid1969-70David Lance Tompkins
1915-16HT Gillies1970-71David Lance Tompkins
1916-17A Swarbrick/EH Swarbrick1971-72Jeffrey Taylor Dixon
1917-18CL MacDiarmid1972-73Jeffrey Taylor Dixon
1918-19HT Gillies1973-74RA Houston
1919-20HT Gillies1974-75RA Houston
1920-21EH Northcroft1975-76Alan Lough Hassall
1921-22EH Northcroft1976-77Alan Lough Hassall
1922-23CL MacDiarmid1977-78Barry John Paterson
1923-24CL MacDiarmid1978-79John Edward Shepherd Allen
1924-25PH Watts1979-80GJ Dennett
1925-26PH Watts1980-81Victor Ronald Jamieson
1926-27PH Watts1981-82Keith William Tanner
1927-28W Tudhope1982-83Keith William Tanner
1928-29W Tudhope1983-84Stephen John Gordon Brooker
1929-30FA Swarbrick1984-85Stephen John Gordon Brooker
1930-31FA Swarbrick1985-86Robert Wilson
1931-32NS Johnson1986-87Robert Wilson
1932-33NS Johnson1987-88Warren John Scotter
1933-34FA Swarbrick1988-89Peter Joynt Parham
1934-35FA Swarbrick1989-90Peter Joynt Parham
1935-36JF Strang1990-91John S Marshall
1936-37JF Strang1991-92Murray J Bindon
1937-38JF Strang1992-93Murray J Bindon
1938-39HJ McMullin1993-94Phil Gittos
1939-40HJ McMullin1994-95Christine Mary Grice
1940-41HJ McMullin1995-96Christine Mary Grice
1941-42AL Tompkins1996-97John Gallie
1942-43HM Hammond1997-98John Gallie
1943-44HM Hammond1998-99David Wilson QC
1944-45AL Tompkins1999-00David Wilson QC
1945-46WC Tanner2000-01Phillip Morgan
1946-47WC Tanner2001-02Phillip Morgan
1947-48EF Clayton-Greene2002-03Christopher Michael Clews
1948-49EF Clayton-Greene2003-04Christopher Michael Clews
1949-50WJ King2004-05Warren Claude Pyke
1950-51WJ King2005-06Warren Claude Pyke
1951-52GG Briggs2006-07Liz Jamieson
1952-53GG Briggs2007-08Jonathan Paul Temm
1953-54R McCaw2008-09Jonathan Paul Temm
1954-55R McCaw2009-10Michael McIvor
1955-56FC Henry2010-11Michael McIvor
1956-57FC Henry2011-12Bruce James Hesketh
1957-58HCM Norris2012-13Bruce James Hesketh
1958-59HCM Norris2013-14Bruce James Hesketh
1959-60JR Fitzgerald2014-15Kerry Burroughs
1960-61JR Fitzgerald2015-16Kerry Burroughs
1961-62KL Sandford2016-17Kerry Burroughs
1962-63KL Sandford2017-18Russell Paul Boot
1963-64NI Smith2018-19Russell Paul Boot
1964-65NI Smith2019-20Terence Singh
1965-66ID Mears 

The first lawyers in the Waikato Bay of Plenty region

"In the early days practitioners came and went," says the New Zealand Law Society's history Portrait of a Profession (Reed, 1969) of the Waikato region. Among the first lawyers to settle in Hamilton were William McGregor Hay (who was reported as resident there in 1873), FA Whitaker, son of Sir Frederick Whitaker (practising from Ngaruawahia in April 1874), CE Madden (1874), W Leary (1874) and Lewis O'Neill (1874).

Portrait of a Profession says Hay was a "picturesque and choleric person" who dominated the local court. "On one occasion, feeling his opponent had insulted him, Hay smote him with his umbrella. Instead of being charged with contempt of court, he was privately condoled with by the Bench." (page 364).

Hay's health deteriorated and he employed a clerk Arthur Swarbrick. Swarbrick was admitted as a solicitor in 1889 and took over Hay's practice when he died in 1893. Two decades later Swarbrick was elected as the first President of the newly formed Hamilton District Law Society.

The first resident lawyer in Rotorua was F Rhodes. 

The first resident lawyers in Tauranga appear to have been WB Hawkins, who began practice as a barrister and solicitor in Harington Street in 1876 and OM Quintal, who was practising as a barrister from Harington Street in 1876. A report of the Resident Magistrates Court in the Bay of Plenty Times on 23 September 1876 shows that the two represented all who appeared in the court. Hawkins seems to have left the district after two years, but Quintal - by then a solicitor - was still practising in Tauranga in 1888. FW Brookfield, the eldest son of Auckland Crown Solicitor FMP Brookfield, practised as a solicitor in Tauranga from January 1877 to August 1878.

Last updated on the 20th June 2019