New Zealand Law Society

Navigation menu

Alternate Environment Court Judges appointed

01 November 2018

Judge Michael John Doogan and Judge Layne Ross Harvey of the Māori Land Court have been appointed alternate Judges of the Environment Court from 29 October 2018, a New Zealand Gazette notice states.

Judge Doogan was appointed to the Māori Land Court on 25 January 2013. He is based in Wellington and provides support for hearings around the country although he primarily hears cases in Masterton, Levin and Wellington.

Judge Harvey was appointed to the Māori Land Court on 1 September 2002. Based in Rotorua, he is the resident Judge for both the Aotea and Tākitimu Districts of the Māori Land Court, hearing cases in New Plymouth, Hāwera, Whanganui, Levin, Palmerston North, Wellington and Hastings.

Last updated on the 16th September 2019