New Zealand Law Society

Navigation menu

Industrial action affecting the Courts and other Ministry of Justice Services, Wednesday 19 September

18 September 2018

The Public Service Association (PSA) has advised the Ministry of Justice that its members will be taking strike action between 10.30am-12.30pm on Wednesday 19 September.  As a result, apart from a limited number of matters at the Auckland High Court, courthouses, registries and tribunal offices across the country will be closed, reconvening at approximately 2.15pm that afternoon.

It is recommended that the profession check the daily list on the Courts of New Zealand website in the usual way to stay informed about timing for fixtures.

Arrest courts will operate at the following District Courts between 9am and 10.15am to deal with overnight arrests:  

  • Auckland District Court
  • Manukau District Court
  • Christchurch District Court
  • Waitakere District Court
  • North Shore District Court
  • Hamilton District Court
  • Tauranga District Court
  • Rotorua District Court
  • Palmerston North District Court
  • Wellington District Court
  • Whāngarei District Court
  • Dunedin District Court
  • Hutt Valley District Court, and
  • Porirua District Court.

The Ministry’s Contact Centre (0800 268 787) will continue to operate, however, there will be delays in answering calls and receiving responses to calls. Queries about the Specialist Courts should also be directed to the 0800 number.  

Other industrial action is in the following form:

Overtime Ban (for one month from 19 September 2018) – PSA members may choose not to accept overtime so workloads and operations will be managed within usual operating hours.

Work to Rule (for one month from 19 September 2018) – PSA members may choose to work to rule. This means work an 8 hour day, take one full hour for lunch and have 10 minute morning and afternoon tea breaks.

Last updated on the 16th September 2019