New Zealand Law Society

Navigation menu

Rex Mason Trust legal writing award entries open soon

16 March 2020

Entries for New Zealand's oldest legal writing prize will open on 6 April 2020.

The Honourable Rex Mason Prize for Excellence in Legal Writing will be awarded for writing which was published in a New Zealand legal publication between 1 January 2019 and 31 December 2019.

Entries may be made from 1 April until 4pm, 26 June 2020 on the official entry form. Full details of the prize and the form are available here.

The prize was established in 1973 and commemorates Henry Greathead Rex Mason (1885-1975), one of New Zealand's longest-serving MPs, and a former Attorney-General and Minister of Justice. It is valued at around $1,000 each year and is managed by the Wellington branch of the New Zealand Law Society as trustee for the Honourable Rex Mason Trust.

The prize judges are a nominee of the Chief Justice, the Dean of Victoria University of Wellington Law School, and the Editor of the New Zealand Law Journal.

The last prize winner, for writing published during 2018, was Helen Dervan & Simon Jensen for their article "Prudential Regulation in 21st Century New Zealand: The Case for Deposit Insurance" which was published in the New Zealand Law Review.

A list of prize winners since 2010 is available here.

Last updated on the 16th March 2020