New Zealand Law Society

Navigation menu

WiFi access coming to Auckland District Courts

07 July 2016

The Ministry of Justice has advised that WiFi access will be available in the Waitakere and Manukau District Court buildings from 18 July 2016.

The ministry says WiFi access will also be available in the Auckland and North Shore District Court buildings in the coming weeks, on a date to be advised.

"Ministry of Justice supported WiFi is intended to assist our justice sector agencies and stakeholders [to] use their electronic devices for work purposes only while they are on court premises," it says.

"WiFi access at these ministry buildings is provided at the discretion of the Ministry of Justice. WiFi access is only available to government employees, lawyers, parties who are self representing, and accredited media."

Any lawyer who wants to obtain a password should contact the District Courts Service Managers. Contacts are:

Lauren Stephenson (Waitakere District Court) - lauren.stephenson@justice.govt.nz.

Anita Edwards (Manukau District Court) - anita.edwards@justice.govt.nz.

Patricia Deacon (Auckland District Court) - patricia.deacon@justice.govt.nz.

Craig Walker (North Shore District Court) - craig.walker@justice.govt.nz.

The ministry says lawyers who are appearing in the Employment and Environment Courts, Coroners Court or any of the tribunals can obtain WiFi passwords from the following managers:

Harry Johnson (Employment and Environment Courts) - harry.johnson@justice.govt.nz.

Jessie Henderson (Tribunals) - jessie.henderson@justice.govt.nz.

Malcolm Mott (Coronial Services) - malcolm.mott@justice.govt.nz.

Last updated on the 16th September 2019