New Zealand Law Society

Navigation menu

Lawyers reappointed to Mental Health Review Tribunal

07 November 2018

The Minister of Health has reappointed five lawyers to the Mental Health Review Tribunal. They are James Wilding (Christchurch, Convenor), Michelle Duggan (Nelson), Nigel Dunlop (Nelson), Robb Newberry (Wellington), Robyn von Keisenberg (Auckland).

The tribunal undertakes a range of statutory functions, primarily reviewing the condition of psychiatric patients, including special and restricted patients, who are subject to the Mental Health (Compulsory Assessment and Treatment) Act 1992.

It sits throughout New Zealand in panels of three, comprising a lawyer, psychiatrist and community member. The roles are part-time.


Last updated on the 7th November 2018