New Zealand Law Society

Navigation menu

Te Reo O Te Omeka Hau wins Fairway Anne Scragg Scholarship 2018

06 December 2018

The 2018 winner of the FairWay Resolution Anne Scragg Scholarship winner is Te Reo O Te Omeka Hau (Ngati Te Rino hapu of Ngapuhi).

FairWay says he is an accredited mediator with a passion for resolving disputes through culturally appropriate processes.

“Te Reo impressed the panel with his passion for mediation, and his thought leadership around how mediators can practice in way that is tika. How we as mediators can do something in the right way, at the right time and with the right people, especially for Māori,” FairWay Principal of Dispute Resolution Denise Evans says.

“Te Reo is planning to use the scholarship award to attend mediation training with internationally renowned mediator Ken Cloke in Santa Monica, California. We are delighted to be able to help support him on his trip and we have no doubt that Te Reo will benefit from exploring transformative models with one of the world’s leading mediators,” FairWay Chief Executive Rhys West says.

The FairWay Resolution Anne Scragg Scholarship winner receives a $10,000 contribution to their professional development and they have the opportunity to join the FairWay team for a 12-week placement. Following a shortlisting process, the selected finalists were invited to submit a paper on dispute resolution topic of their choice and were interviewed by a panel.

Te Reo O Te Omeka Hau's article is "If you can't own your past, you can't own your future".


Last updated on the 6th December 2018