New Zealand Law Society - Our Profession Our People

Our Profession Our People

This article is over 3 years old. More recent information on this subject may exist.

Chris Moore has been re-elected President of the New Zealand Law Society. He was elected unopposed at the Law Society Council meeting on 10 April. Mr Moore became the Society’s 29th President in April 2013, when he succeeded Jonathan Temm. Mr Moore was chair of the Property Law Section from 2003 until 2013, President of the Law Society’s Auckland branch from 2009 until March 2013, and Vice-President (Auckland) from 2012 until he became the Society’s President. Mr Moore is a partner of specialist projects firm Greenwood Roche Chisnall. He graduated with an LLB from Otago University and practised for a short time in Auckland before moving to Whakatane, becoming a partner in the law firm now known as Hamertons Lawyers Ltd. He returned to Auckland to join Russell McVeagh, where he was a partner for 10 years. He then moved to Auckland law firm Meredith Connell, where he was a partner from 1999 to 2013.

Kathryn Beck was re-elected unopposed as the Auckland Vice-President of the New Zealand Law Society at the Law Society Council meeting on 10 April. She is now serving her second term in the office. An employment law specialist, Ms Beck is a partner of Swarbrick Beck Mackinnon in Auckland. Previously she was a partner of Haigh Lyon, where she led the employment team and was head of litigation. A former convenor of the Law Society’s Employment Law Committee, Ms Beck has acted for both major employers and leading unions. She is also experienced in alternative dispute resolution.

Lawyer Listing for Bots