New Zealand Law Society - New Taranaki branch President

New Taranaki branch President

This article is over 3 years old. More recent information on this subject may exist.

Govett Quilliam partner Alexander Laurenson is the new President of the New Zealand Law Society’s Taranaki branch. He succeeds long-serving Taranaki President Rajan Rai, who was first elected to the role in 2010.

Mr Laurenson first joined Govett Quilliam in 2000 and re-joined the firm in 2007 with a view to making a long-term commitment to Taranaki.

After practising with the firm from 2000 to 2004, Mr Laurenson moved to Wellington, where he completed an in-house contract with the Ministry of Social Development, followed by what he describes as a most wonderful period of practice with the then Catriona Doyle and Rohan Cochrane Law Office in Porirua (now Family Law Specialists Limited).

A year after returning to New Plymouth, Mr Laurenson became a partner of Govett Quilliam in 2008 and became actively involved in the Taranaki branch Council from 2010. As well as being a long-serving Council member, Mr Laurenson has also served as the branch’s Vice-President.

Mr Laurenson has 16 years’ experience in civil and private litigation. Although he no longer appears regularly in criminal courts he has done so in the past. He also specialises in iwi sector legal services.

His community service includes being the current chair of the Govett Brewster Foundation. He has in the past served as President of the Friends of the Govett Brewster Art Gallery Committee. He is the current organiser of New Plymouth’s Citizen’s Advice Bureau Volunteer Lawyer Service. He has an active passion for the national game, rugby, and appears as Chair of the Taranaki Provincial Union Appeals Committee when required. However, he is now more focused these days on under-6 rugby, watching his son play.

Of Te Āti Haunui-a-Pāpārangi, Tūwharetoa, Ngāi Tūmapūhia-ā-Rangi and Ngāi Tahu descent, Mr Laurenson is married to Kate and they have three children.

He enjoys spending time with family, participating in social sports, attending local events and art and culture, and otherwise enjoys all of the wonderful things that New Plymouth and Taranaki have to offer both professionally and personally.

Rachael Webb was re-elected the branch’s Vice-President at the recent annual meeting, and the new branch Council is: Tom Brodie, Emma Hamilton, Alice Vickers, Caroline McLorinan, Alexia Mihailoff, Josie Mooney, Catherine Quin, Sarah Sinclair-Tiakato and Herman Visagie.

Lawyer Listing for Bots