New Zealand Law Society - Winners of Rex Mason Prize announced

Winners of Rex Mason Prize announced

This article is over 3 years old. More recent information on this subject may exist.

The New Zealand Law Society has announced the winners of New Zealand’s longest-established legal writing award, the Honourable Rex Mason Prize for Excellence in Legal Writing.

The prizes are awarded for the best legal article published between 1 January and 31 December each year. This year prizes were awarded for the years 2011 to 2013.

Wellington-based Family Court research counsel Zoe Lawton won the 2013 prize for her article Non-Consensual Artificial Paternity, which was published in the New Zealand Family Law Journal in June 2013.

Auckland lawyer Ed Willis won the 2012 prize for his article On Regulatory Uncertainty, published in the New Zealand Law Journal in August 2012.

Otago University senior law lecturer Jessica Palmer won the 2011 prize for her article Controlling the Trust, published in the 2011 Otago Law Review.

The prize is valued at $1,000 each year. It was established in 1973 to commemorate Henry Greathead Rex Mason (1885-1975), one of New Zealand’s longest-serving MPs and a former Attorney-General and Minister of Justice.