New Zealand Law Society - 60 AML CFT exemptions granted so far

60 AML CFT exemptions granted so far

This article is over 3 years old. More recent information on this subject may exist.

Associate Justice Minister Simon Bridges says 60 exemptions under the Anti-Money Laundering and Countering Financing of Terrorism Act 2009 have been granted so far.

Responding to a written parliamentary question from Green Party MP Julie Genter, Mr Bridges has said there have been 15 full and 45 partial exemptions.

"Companies have been granted 6 full exemptions, and 20 partial exemptions," Mr Bridges says.

Mr Bridges provided a list of the exemptions provided to specific types of organisations which Ms Genter had asked about:

Exemptions granted to specified organisations under Act

Business Full Exemptions Partial Exemptions
Banks 0 2
Building societies 0 0
Casinos 0 1
Credit unions 0 0
Finance companies/advisors 2 3
Foreign exchange dealers 0 0
Life insurers 0 2
Money service businesses 0 0
Trustee companies 0 2
Total 2 10

Mr Bridges says decisions on exemptions are taken on the recommendation of the AML/CFT National Coordination Committee which was established by legislation to consider AML/CFT policy.

He says the committee comprises representatives of the Ministry of Justice, the AML/CFT supervisors (Department of Internal Affairs, Financial Markets Authority, Reserve Bank of New Zealand) "and other AML/CFT relevant agencies including New Zealand Police, Inland Revenue and New Zealand Customs Service."

Mr Bridges says further information on exemptions, including details regarding each exemption granted is available here and here.