New Zealand Law Society - COVID 19 temporary entry restrictions

COVID 19 temporary entry restrictions

This article is over 3 years old. More recent information on this subject may exist.

The New Zealand Customs Service says the Government has announced temporary restrictions on travellers arriving in New Zealand from mainland China or Iran as a precautionary measure to protect against the spread of COVID-19.

The restrictions prevent foreign nationals travelling from or transiting through mainland China or Iran from entering New Zealand.

People who are exempt from the temporary restrictions are:

  • New Zealand citizens (including those from the three Countries of the Realm: Tokelau, Niue and the Cook Islands), permanent residents and their immediate family
  • Australian citizens and permanent residents whose primary place of established residence is New Zealand
  • air crews who have been using appropriate personal protective equipment (PPE).

People exempt from the temporary restrictions should self-isolate for 14 days after their return if they have been in mainland China or Iran, or exposed to a confirmed case of COVID-19.

People who have been in Italy or the Republic of Korea (excluding airport transfer) should self-isolate for 14 days after their return.

"Self-isolation means you should avoid situations that could facilitate the transmission of the virus such as social gatherings and events where you come into contact with others; in particular child care/pre-school centres, primary and secondary schools (including staff and students), aged care, health care facilities, prisons, and public gatherings," Customs says.

The best source of information on COVID-19 is the Ministry of Health website.

Lawyer Listing for Bots