New Zealand Law Society - New Parole Board chair appointed

New Parole Board chair appointed

This article is over 3 years old. More recent information on this subject may exist.

Former High Court Judge Sir Ronald Young has been appointed the next chair of the New Zealand Parole Board, Attorney-General David Parker announced today.

Sir Ronald takes over as head of the Board from Hon Warwick Gendall QC on 13 August 2018.  Mr Gendall has served as chair of the Parole Board since 2012.

Sir Ronald retired as a Judge of the High Court in 2015 after a total of more than 27 years as a judge including 14 years’ service on the High Court Bench. Before that he had been the Chief District Court Judge and was highly regarded as an administrator as well as a very experienced and effective Judge.  

Sir Ronald also has extensive management and leadership experience, not only as Chief District Court Judge but as the list Judge for many years in the High Court Wellington and as President of the Electoral Commission from 2000 to 2003.  

David Parker says he was very pleased to have someone with the legal acumen and administrative experience of Sir Ronald to take the demanding role of chairperson of the Parole Board.  

Mr Parker also paid tribute to the very able leadership Mr GendalI has provided in his six years as chairperson.

The Board is established by section 108 of the Parole Act 2002.  It is an independent statutory body that as its principal role considers offenders eligible for release on parole and determines the conditions to be imposed on offenders on release, and in some cases monitors compliance with conditions.  It has three levels of responsibility.  The Chairperson must be a current or former High Court Judge or a current or former District Court Judge.  Panel convenors must be District Court Judges, or barristers or solicitors.  In addition, there are a number of other non-judicial or lay members.

Lawyer Listing for Bots