New Zealand Law Society - Three new Waitangi Tribunal members

Three new Waitangi Tribunal members

This article is over 3 years old. More recent information on this subject may exist.

Three new members of the Waitangi Tribunal have been appointed, with another five existing members re-appointed.

The new members are:

Ruakere Hond (Taranaki, Te Ātiawa) is a longstanding Māori Language advocate and a stalwart of the Parihaka community. He has held several leadership roles in Māori Language organisations including Te Reo o Taranaki, Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi and Te Ataarangi. He has served two terms as a member of the Te Taura Whiri i te reo Māori and is currently a member of Te Mātāwai.

Prue Kapua (Te Arawa) is a lawyer with an extensive background in the Treaty sector. She has supported whānau, hapū and iwi claimants in several Waitangi Tribunal inquiries. Ms Kapua was a member of the Refugee Status Appeals Authority, Deputy Chair of the Medical Practitioners Disciplinary Tribunal and a director of First Health NZ Ltd (a Southern Cross NZ Ltd subsidiary).

Kim Ngarimu (Ngāti Porou) has held senior positions at Te Puni Kōkiri (Deputy Secretary), Ministry of Women (Acting Chief Executive) and the Waitangi Tribunal (Executive Director). She is currently self-employed as a consultant and a professional governor.

Dr Angela Ballara, Dr Monty Soutar, Ronald Crosby, Tania Simpson and Professor Pou Temara have been reappointed to the Waitangi Tribunal.