New Zealand Law Society - Two lawyers appointed members of Commerce Commission

Two lawyers appointed members of Commerce Commission

This article is over 3 years old. More recent information on this subject may exist.

Two Wellington-based lawyers have been appointed members of the Commerce Commission’s Board of Commissioners.

Dr Derek Johnston has been appointed a member for five years from 1 November 2019. Derekis a commercial barrister and arbitrator of Thorndon Chambers. He has broad experience in competition and commercial law, including advising in key sectors such as dairy, telecommunications, gas and electricity.

Previously, Derek has been the independent Chair of NZX’s Regulatory Governance Committee, Chair of the NZ Markets Disciplinary Tribunal and a corporate partner at Russell McVeagh.

Elisabeth Welson has been reappointed for a further two years after her current term concludes on 31 March 2020. Elisabeth is a Sole Practitioner and formerly a senior commercial partner at Simpson Grierson. Elisabeth has significant expertise in competition, consumer and regulatory law, along with general commercial and governance experience.

Elisabeth has been a full member of the Commission since 2013. She is also a member of the Institute of Directors.

Lawyer Listing for Bots