New Zealand Law Society - Rex Mason Award prizewinners unveiled

Rex Mason Award prizewinners unveiled

This article is over 3 years old. More recent information on this subject may exist.

Helen Dervan and Simon Jensen have won this year's Rex Mason Prize for excellence in legal writing for their essay, "Prudential Regulation in 21st Century New Zealand: The Case for Deposit Insurance" published in (2018) 28 NZULR 211-236.

A presentation was held on 5 November 2019 at the New Zealand Law Society Library, attended by Professor Mark Hickford, Pro Vice-Chancellor and Dean of Law at Victoria University, Justice Ellen France, Wellington Branch Council President Annette Gray along with Branch Council and New Zealand Law Society representatives.

Ms Dervan is a senior lecturer in law at the Auckland University of Technology, and Mr Jensen a partner in Buddle Findlay in Wellington.

The prize was awarded for writing which was published in a New Zealand legal publication between 1 January 2018 and 31 December 2018.

The winning article “examines the role played by deposit insurance I the promotion of financial system stability and as a protection of retail depositors.”

The Rex Mason Prize for Excellence in Legal Writing was established in 1973 and is New Zealand's oldest legal writing prize. It commemorates Henry Greathead Rex Mason (1885-1975), one of New Zealand's longest-serving MPs. After completing an LLB at Victoria University College, Mr Mason became a lawyer in Pukekohe. He later became a Labour MP, and served as Attorney-General and Minister of Justice.

A list of prize winners since 2010 is available here.