New Zealand Law Society - About Gisborne Branch

About Gisborne Branch

The Gisborne branch of the New Zealand Law Society had its beginnings in February 1907 when the Gisborne District Law Society was founded. This became the Gisborne branch of the Law Society on 1 February 2009.

Governance is by an elected Branch Council, consisting of the branch President, the Vice-President and nine Council members. The President, David Ure, represents the branch on the New Zealand Law Society's Council.

The branch functions include:

  • representing and serving the interests of local Law Society members;
  • upholding the fundamental obligations imposed by the Lawyers and Conveyancers Act 2006 on lawyers who provide regulated services;
  • attending to representative functions, including promoting collegiality within the branch;
  • assisting and promoting law reform.


The Gisborne branch includes the centres of Gisborne, Ruatoria and Wairoa.

Lawyer Listing for Bots