New Zealand Law Society - About Southland Branch

About Southland Branch

The Southland branch of the New Zealand Law Society had its beginnings on 21 December 1878 when the Southland District Law Society was founded. This became the Southland branch of the Law Society on 1 February 2009.

Governance is by an elected Branch Council, consisting of the branch President, the Vice-President and five Council members. The President, Paul Gray, represents the branch on the New Zealand Law Society's Council. 

The branch functions include:

  • representing and serving the interests of local Law Society members; 
  • upholding the fundamental obligations imposed by the Lawyers and Conveyancers Act 2006 on lawyers who provide regulated services;
  • attending to representative functions, including promoting collegiality within the branch;
  • assisting and promoting law reform.


The Southland branch includes the centres of Gore, Invercargill, Mataura, Otautau, Riverton, Tapanui, Te Anau, Tuatapere, Winton and Wyndham.

Lawyer Listing for Bots