New Zealand Law Society - About Taranaki Branch

About Taranaki Branch

The Taranaki branch of the New Zealand Law Society had its beginnings on 6 March 1879 when the Taranaki District Law Society was founded. This became the Taranaki branch on 1 February 2009.

Governance is by an elected Branch Council, consisting of the branch President and nine Council members. The President, Caroline Silk, represents the branch on the New Zealand Law Society's Council. 

The branch functions include:

  • representing and serving the interests of local Law Society members; 
  • upholding the fundamental obligations imposed by the Lawyers and Conveyancers Act 2006 on lawyers who provide regulated services;
  • attending to representative functions, including promoting collegiality within the branch;
  • assisting and promoting law reform.


The Taranaki branch includes the following centres: Eltham, Hawera, Inglewood, Kaponga, Manaia, New Plymouth, Opunake, Patea, Stratford, Waitara.