New Zealand Law Society - IFLR1000 rankings released

IFLR1000 rankings released

This article is over 3 years old. More recent information on this subject may exist.

The IFLR1000 2017 Guide to Leading Financial Law Firms has been published, with 55 New Zealand lawyers rated as Financial and Corporate Leading Lawyers, and one rated as a Rising Star.

IFLR - the International Financial Law Review - was first published in 1982 and is a London-based organisation. It is owned by Euromoney Institutional Investor plc. Euromoney is a public company listed on the London Stock Exchange.

The first rankings were published by IFLR in 1990 and it now covers over 120 jurisdictions. The rankings are based on three criteria: peer feedback (through a survey of law firm partners), client feedback (through a client survey), and analysis of statistics on transaction values and volumes.

Individual lawyers can be ranked as "Leading lawyers". IFLR says these are individuals who have proved themselves to be among the leading figures in their respective markets. "As well as receiving recommendations from clients and peers these individuals will also have a clear track record of innovative work."

Rising stars  are individuals considered by the market to be the Leading lawyers of the future. "Often more junior members of the firm they will have demonstrated their skills and potential by already advising on innovative transactions," IFLR says.

The New Zealand section of the guide shows that Bell Gully is the firm with the most Leading Lawyers, with 10, followed by Minter Ellison Rudd Watts (7), Simpson Grierson (7), Buddle Findlay (6) and Chapman Tripp (6).

Rachel Dunne of Chapman Tripp is named as a Rising Star.

New Zealand Leading Lawyers and Rising Star, IFLR 2017 Guide.

Name Firm
Michael Anderson Lowndes
Andrew Beatson Bell Gully
Deemple Budhia Russell McVeagh
Geoff Busch Anderson Lloyd
David Coull Bell Gully
Martin Dalgleish Kensington Swan
Tony Dellow Buddle Findlay
Garry Downs Bell Gully
Grant Dunn Buddle Findlay
Rachel Dunne Chapman Tripp
Peter Eady Simpson Grierson
Tom Fail Minter Ellison Rudd Watts
Gerald Fitzgerald Kensington Swan
Paul Foley Minter Ellison Rudd Watts
James Gibson Bell Gully
Sean Gollin Minter Ellison Rudd Watts
Chris Gordon Bell Gully
Pip Greenwood Russell McVeagh
Andrew Harkness Simpson Grierson
Andrew Harmos Harmos Horton Lusk
Michael Harper Chapman Tripp
Peter Hinton Simpson Grierson
David Hoare Russell McVeagh
Greg Horton Harmos Horton Lusk
Don Holborow Simpson Grierson
Dan Hughes Anthony Harper
Matthew Kersey Russell McVeagh
Hugh Kettle Bell Gully
Murray King Bell Gully
Kate Lane Minter Ellison Rudd Watts
Laurie Mayne Mayne Wetherell
Brigid McArthur Greenwood Roche Chisnall
David McPherson Bell Gully
Neil Millar Minter Ellison Rudd Watts
Mei Nah Mayne Wetherell
Steve Nightingale Buddle Findlay
Paul Oldfield Harmos Horton Lusk
Peter Owles Buddle Findlay
Ross Pennington Chapman Tripp
David Perry Buddle Findlay
Michael Pollard Simpson Grierson
John Powell Russell McVeagh
Cathy Quinn Minter Ellison Rudd Watts
Michael Robinson Simpson Grierson
Dermot Ross Dermot Ross
Sarah Sinclair Minter Ellison Rudd Watts
John Strowger Chapman Tripp
Michael Tingey Bell Gully
Will Tipping Mayne Wetherell
Dave Trueman Simpson Grierson
Tim Tubman Chapman Tripp
Simon Vodanovich Buddle Findlay
Roger Wallis Chapman Tripp
Dave Wetherell Mayne Wetherell
Mike Whale Lowndes
Haydn Wong Bell Gully