New Zealand Law Society - Three Waitangi Tribunal appointments

Three Waitangi Tribunal appointments

This article is over 3 years old. More recent information on this subject may exist.

Former Supreme Court judge Bill Wilson QC is one of three new appointments to the Waitangi Tribunal announced by Māori Development Minister Te Ururoa Flavell.

Dr Hauata Palmer, Derek Lardelli and Bill Wilson QC will join the Tribunal along with 13 other members who have also been reappointed.

New appointments to the Waitangi Tribunal are:

Dr Hauata Palmer is a well-respected kaumātua from Ngāi Te Rangi and he holds a honourary Doctorate in Philosophy. He worked for the Department of Māori Affairs for several years before returning home to work for his hapū and iwi in the Tauranga region.

Derek Lardelli (Ngāti Porou, Rongowhakaata) is an expert in moko, kapa haka, tribal history and whaikōrero. He has been a cultural advisor for numerous groups including the All Blacks and New Zealand's Olympic team. He lives in Gisborne and is an Associate Professor at Toihoukura, School of Māori Arts at the EIT Tairāwhiti campus.

Bill Wilson QC has extensive experience in public and private law. He was a Queen's Council from 1996 to 2007, a Court of Appeal Judge from 2007 before being appointed to the Supreme Court in 2008. He resigned in 2010 to practise as an arbitrator, mediator and legal adviser. He has previously served on the Waitangi Tribunal from 1986 to 1995.

Reappointments to the Waitangi Tribunal are:

Wilson Isaac

Dr Aroha Harris

Basil Morrison

Dr Monty Soutar

Tania Simpson

Tureiti Moxon

Miriama Evans

Professor Rawinia Higgins

Professor Pou Temara

Ronald Crosby

Dr Angela Ballara

David Cochrane

Sir Hirini Moko Mead.

Lawyer Listing for Bots