New Zealand Law Society - The Inspectorate

The Inspectorate

For more information about inspections (also known as reviews), see the Trust account management page.

For general enquiries, call 04 472 7837.

All lawyers practising on own account and operating a trust account will be visited by a member of the Inspectorate.

Melanie Ashall

Position
Inspectorate Manager
Location
Hamilton
Email
melanie.ashall@lawsociety.org.nz
Background
Before joining the Law Society Melanie was an investigator for Inland Revenue specialising in fraud, evasion and prosecutions in the Hidden Economy units.

Phoebe Bayley

Position
Inspector
Location
Auckland
Email
phoebe.bayley@lawsociety.org.nz
Background
Phoebe has held numerous teaching roles overseas and in New Zealand. She is also an admitted barrister and solicitor of the High Court of New Zealand

Graham Bentley

Position
Inspector
Location
Wellington
Email
graham.bentley@lawsociety.org.nz
Background
Before joining the Law Society Graham worked at Chapman Tripp as Chief Financial Officer.

Prashika Chand

Position
Inspector
Location
Auckland
Email
prashika.chand@lawsociety.org.nz
Background
Prashika is a Chartered Accountant. Before joining the Law Society she worked in the private sector specialising in Insolvency and Corporate Recovery.

Hassan Chaudhry

Position
Inspector
Location
Hamilton
Email
hassan.chaudhry@lawsociety.org.nz
Background
Before joining the Law Society Hassan was an investigator for Inland Revenue specialising in fraud, evasion and prosecutions in the Hidden Economy units.

Charl du Plessis

Position
Inspector
Location
Auckland
Email
charl.du.plessis@lawsociety.org.nz
Background
Before joining the Law Society Charl practiced as a Barrister and Solicitor focussing mainly on commercial law.

Bryan Gilmour

Position
Inspector
Location
Hamilton
Email
bryan.gilmour@lawsociety.org.nz
Background
Before joining the Law Society Bryan was an investigator for Inland Revenue specialising in fraud, evasion and prosecutions in the Hidden Economy units.

Tracey Heffernan

Position
Inspector
Location
Wellington
Email
tracey.heffernan@lawsociety.org.nz
Background
Tracey is a Chartered Accountant with an auditing background and has also held financial accounting roles in the banking and Maori business sectors.

Jessie Lowe

Position
Inspector
Location
Auckland
Email
jessie.lowe@lawsociety.org.nz
Background
Before joining the Law Society Jessie was an investigator for Inland Revenue specialising in fraud, evasion and prosecutions in the Hidden Economy units.

Kane Smith

Position
Inspector
Location
Christchurch
Email
kane.smith@lawsociety.org.nz
Background
Before joining the Law Society Kane was an investigator for Inland Revenue specialising in fraud, evasion and prosecutions in the Hidden Economy units.

Philip Strang

Position
Inspector
Location
Christchurch
Email
philip.strang@lawsociety.org.nz
Background
Philip is a Chartered Accountant. Before joining the Law Society he worked in the private sector; most recently as a specialist forensic accountant.

Lee-Ann van Heerden

Position
Inspector
Location
Auckland
Email
lee-ann.vanheerden@lawsociety.org.nz
Background
Before joining the Law Society Lee-Ann worked mostly as an external auditor, and also held financial accounting roles in commercial, manufacturing, agricultural and management companies in New Zealand, and South Africa.

Lucy Wesley

Position
Inspectorate Administrator
Location
Wellington
Email
lucy.wesley@lawsociety.org.nz
Background
Before joining the Law Society Lucy worked for the Medical Association.
Lawyer Listing for Bots