New Zealand Law Society - About Manawatu Branch

About Manawatu Branch

The Manawatu branch of the New Zealand Law Society had its beginnings on 30 March 1962 when the Manawatu District Law Society was founded. This became the Manawatu branch of the Law Society on 1 February 2009.

Governance is by an elected Branch Council, consisting of the branch President, the Vice-President and six Council members.

The branch functions include:

  • representing and serving the interests of local Law Society members; 
  • upholding the fundamental obligations imposed by the Lawyers and Conveyancers Act 2006 on lawyers who provide regulated services;
  • attending to representative functions, including promoting collegiality within the branch;
  •  assisting and promoting law reform.


The Manawatu branch includes the centres of Feilding, Foxton, Levin, Pahiatua, Palmerston North, Shannon and Woodville.

Lawyer Listing for Bots