New Zealand Law Society - Courthouse Committee

Courthouse Committee

The Courthouse Committee monitors and provides a coordinated national response to issues such as court closures and restructuring, modernisation and technology initiatives, and court security/access to courthouses, bearing in mind the needs of all court users.

About us

The committee’s remit is not limited to the physical spaces that operate as courts, but also includes matters that affect access to justice and the administration of justice within those courts (such as AVL and court resourcing).

The committee’s membership was refreshed and expanded in 2018 to provide better coverage across the regions and closer monitoring of the range of issues affecting courthouses and court users around New Zealand.

The committee is the Law Society’s first port of call for court and courthouse issues. Lawyers who would like to raise issues are welcome to get in touch.

Our people

  • Max Winders (Convenor)
  • Iain Hutcheson
  • Leona McWilliam
  • Sumudu Thode
  • Samantha Allen
  • Grant Tyrell
  • Emily Richards
  • Charlie Piho
  • Tim Bain

For queries relating to this committee, please email our Senior Law Reform & Advocacy Advisor, Nilu Ariyaratne:

For media enquiries, please contact

Terms of reference

Lawyer Listing for Bots