New Zealand Law Society - Tax Law Committee

Tax Law Committee

The Tax Law Committee makes submissions on proposed changes to tax law. The Committee liaises closely with Inland Revenue and other stakeholders, and makes submission on Issues Papers, Public Rulings, Interpretation Statements, Questions We’ve Been Asked and other projects on which the Inland Revenue seeks feedback.

About us

The Tax Law Committee was created in 1988 to advise the Law Society on matters relating to tax law reform and to establish an open line of communication and consultation with Inland Revenue. Since its inception the committee has built a strong working relationship with IR and continues to be proactive in tax law reform.

Our people

Neil Russ is the committee convenor. Neil specialises in corporate and international tax issues, as well as structured transactions. In addition to his tax expertise Neil has a multi-jurisdictional background in banking and capital markets transactions. He has been a member of the Tax Law Committee since 2003 and was appointed convenor in 2013.

Members of the committee are highly experienced tax practitioners:

  • Graeme Olding (Deputy Convenor)
  • Fred Ward
  • Geoffrey Clews
  • Barney Cumberland
  • Mike Lennard
  • Stephen Tomlinson
  • Andrew Ryan
  • Pam Davidson
  • Michael Littlewood
  • David Johnston
  • Helen Johnson
  • Tim Stewart
  • Bruce Bernacchi
  • David Patterson

For queries relating to this committee, please email Aimee Bryant, Manager Law Reform and Advocacy:

For media enquiries, please contact

Terms of reference